APPLICATION FOR APPN REINSTATEMENT

Use this application if:

The Idaho APPN license is lapsed and the applicant holds a current
Idaho professional nurse license or Compact RN license. If the applicant
does NOT hold a current Idaho RN or Compact RN license, please
complete the RN & APPN Reinstatement application.

Criminal Background checks — All applicants are required to submit
to a fingerprint-based criminal background check by the Idaho
Central Criminal Database and Federal Bureau of Investigation

criminal history database. Fingerprint cards are available from the
Board office by calling (208) 334-3110 ext 2476.

Total Fees to be submitted: APPN Reinstatement Fee - $125.00
Fingerprint Processing Fee - $ 30.00*
TOTAL FEE: $155.00
*PLEASE NOTE:

Effective October 1, 2012, the Fingerprint Processing Fee will be increased to $34.00.
Applications received on or after October 1, 2012, must include the increased fee.
(Total fee to submit - $159.00)

Effective July 1, 2013, the Fingerprint Processing Fee will be increased to: 542.00.
Applications post-marked on or after July 1, 2013, must include the increased fee.
(Total fee to submit - $167.00)



Idaho Board of Nursing - PO Box 83720, Boise, Idaho 83720-0061
Voice - (208) 334-3110 - TDD Relay - (800) 377-3529

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS FOR ADVANCED PRACTICE
PROFESSIONAL NURSE (APPN) REINSTATEMENT

e NOTE: The Idaho or Compact RN license must be current. Advanced Practice Professional Nurse (APPN Categories: CNM,
CNS, NP, RNA) requesting reinstatement of licensure may use this application.

Idaho has a mandatory nurse licensure law requiring nurses to be licensed to practice in Idaho at the time of employment. A
temporary license may be issued for an interim period of ninety (90) days while the application for renewable license is being
processed. Instructions for temporary licensure are included on the reverse side.

The following documents must be on file with the Board of Nursing to determine your eligibility for reinstatement in Idaho.
Documents requiring notarization may NOT be received by FAX. All documents become the property of the Board and may
be destroyed, without further notification, if the application is not completed within one year:

APPLICATION FORM. Only application forms provided by the Board, completed in ink and notarized will be accepted.
Photocopies or Faxed copies of application forms will not be accepted.
1. If all information requested is not supplied, provide an explanation for the omission.
2. Sign the affidavit(s) with your usual signature and have it notarized.
3. Attach a 2x2 identification photograph, taken within the last year. Electronically scanned photos are not acceptable;
features must be clearly identifiable. Black & white or color photos are acceptable.

FEE. Enclose the appropriate fee for all categories of licensure for which you are applying (personal checks are accepted):
Advanced Practice Professional Nurse Reinstatement - $125.00 Temporary License for APPN — no charge

DECLARATION OF PRIMARY STATE OF RESIDENCE. Complete the enclosed form attesting that your primary residence is
Idaho or other non-compact state.

ADVANCED PRACTICE NATIONAL CERTIFICATION. Indicate the name of the certifying organization for your category. List the
date of original certification and submit a copy of your current certificate from a national organization. Nurse Practitioners
NOT certified by a national organization and approved previously to practice in Idaho prior to July 1, 1998, shall be exempt
from submitting evidence of certification. If your certification has lapsed, see instructions under “Temporary License” on
reverse side of these instructions.

ATTESTATION. Carefully read the attestation regarding your APPN practice and initial that you have read this statement. If
you are unable to attest that you have practiced the minimum period of time, you may be issued a temporary license in order
to acquire the required number of hours and demonstrate ability to safely practice as an advanced practice professional
nurse in Idaho.

APPN CONTINUING EDUCATION. Provide documentation of thirty (30) contact hours of APPN continuing education during
the past two (2) year period. Continuing education completed may be that required for renewal of national certification if
documentation is submitted confirming the certifying organization’s requirement is for at least thirty (30) contact hours.

Advanced practice professional nurses applying for reinstatement of prescriptive authorization must also complete ten (10)
contact hours of approved pharmacology-related continuing education in the twenty-four months immediately preceding
application for renewal as part of the required thirty (30) hours.

SCREENING QUESTIONS. Carefully read each question and provide the appropriate response. For any questions answered
‘yes’, attach a written statement of circumstances, including dates, events, outcomes, etc. If you have concerns regarding any
of these screening questions, please contact the Board office. Providing false or incomplete information on this application
may be grounds for denial of licensure. If you have previously reported this information to the Board, please indicate that the
information is on file with the Board.

-See reverse side -



AFFIDAVIT. The affidavit on page 2 must be completed and notarized in order for your application to be valid.

FINGERPRINT CARD. Complete the required Fingerprint card and submit to the Board for processing. Only cards from the
Board office are acceptable - fee for processing - $30.00. Effective October 1, 2012, the fee for processing of fingerprint
cards shall be increased to: $34.00. Applications received on or after October 1, 2012, must include the increased fee. You
must complete and return the enclosed “NonCriminal Justice Applicant Privacy Statement” to the Board office before your
license can be issued. To obtain and challenge your FBI Identification Record — go to: www.fbi.gov/hq/cjisd/fprequest.htm.

TEMPORARY LICENSURE FOR ADVANCED PRACTICE PROFESSIONAL NURSE
Advanced practice professional nurse applicants (CNM, CNS, NP, RNA) applying for APPN temporary licensure, must submit
the completed application form and the “Affidavit Attesting to Validity of Copy”, attached to one of the following documents:
(An APPN temporary license will only be issued if the applicant holds a valid RN Idaho or Compact license or an RN temporary
has been applied for and issued.)
1) If you hold national certification, submit a copy of your current certificate showing the expiration date; or
2) If your national certification has lapsed, submit a copy of your lapsed certificate. The Board will consider
issuance of a conditional temporary license in order for you to meet specified practice requirements under
supervision for re-entry into advanced practice professional nursing.

BE ADVISED: Advanced practice professional nurses must renew their license by August 31* of every odd-numbered year. A
nurse who applies for licensure on or after March 1st of the year in which the license would normally be renewed will be
issued a current certificate valid until the following renewal period.
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THE IDAHO BOARD OF NURSING DOES NOT DISCRIMINATE OR DENY SERVICES ON THE BASIS OF AGE, RACE, RELIGION, COLOR,
NATIONAL ORIGIN, SEX AND/OR DISABILITY.



http://www.fbi.gov/hq/cjisd/fprequest.htm

IDAHO BOARD OF NURSING
Mailing Address: PO BOX 83720 - BOISE, ID 83720-0061
Location: 280 N 8™ St, Suite 210, Boise, ID 83702

(208) 334-3110 ext 2500
APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE - ADVANCED PRACTICE PROFESSIONAL NURSE

License # Check all categories for which application is being made: AFFIX A 2” X 2”
APPN#H___ 0 [] Advanced Practice Professional Nurse: PHOTOGRAPH
Receipt O Certified Nurse-Midwife
Amount HEAD AND SHOULDERS
O clinical Nurse Specialist QN.LY

Approval Taken within the Year

Temp O Nurse Practitioner
) . DO NOT STAPLE

Licensure @) Registered Nurse Anesthetist

[] Temporary Licensure

Date of photo

Name

Last First Middle Maiden

Other names used previously

Mailing Address

City State Zip Code
City State Zip Code
Telephone —Home/Cell: () Work: () S.S. No.
Birthplace Birth Date
(City & State) (Mo/Day/Year)

ADVANCED PRACTICE PROFESSIONAL NURSE CERTIFICATION

APPN Certification:
Name of certifying organization:
Date of original certification: Current expiration date:

A notarized copy of your current certificate from a national organization must be attached to the enclosed Affidavit.

EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

LIST LAST TWO YEARS OF ADVANCED PRACTICE NURSING EMPLOYMENT:

Name & Complete Position Employment
Address of Employer From To

If you have not been employed in advanced practice nursing within the last two years, or if there are gaps in employment,
please explain. (Supervised practice and a content update may be required if you have not engaged in advanced nursing
practice for more than two years.)

F.P. CARD REC'D
F.P. RESULTS REC'D Continued on Page
INITIALED




Page 2

ATTESTATION

By signing the notarized affidavit on this application, | hereby attest that | have practiced a minimum of two hundred (200)
hours of advanced practice professional nursing practice within the two (2) year period preceding the filing of this
application. Please initial that you have read this statement

IT IS THE DUTY OF EACH APPLICANT TO MAKE INQUIRY OF THE INDIVIDUAL LICENSING BOARDS REGARDING THE STATUS
OF LICENSURE IN THAT STATE BEFORE RESPONDING TO THE QUESTIONS BELOW. Ignorance of license status or disciplinary
information will not constitute an excuse for incorrect information. In addition, failure to disclose all licenses may result in
denial of your application or other appropriate action.

SCREENING QUESTIONS

PLEASE ANSWER ALL QUESTIONS (For all “yes” answers, attach a complete explanation including dates, circumstances and
supporting documents if necessary.)

1. Has your nursing license ever been disciplined in any state (e.g., revoked, suspended, OYes [ONo
placed on probation, formally reprimanded, or otherwise encumbered)?
Is any action pending against your nursing license in any state? OYes [ONo
Have you ever had approval to practice in an advanced role denied, limited, suspended,
revoked or otherwise disciplined? ONA OvYes [OCNo
Have you ever had an application for nursing license denied? OYes [ONo
Have you ever been denied admission to take a nursing examination by any state? OYes [ONo
Do you have, or have you been diagnosed as having, or have you been treated for having
a physical or mental condition, including drug or alcohol addiction during the past OYes [CINo
five (5) years, which may impair your ability to practice nursing with reasonable skill and
safety?
If yes, do you require special accommodations in order to practice? CONA [OYes ONo
Do you currently have any felony or misdemeanor charges pending against you in any OYes [ONo
jurisdiction?

9. Have you ever pled guilty, entered a plea of nolo contendre, been convicted of, or OYes [ONo

received a withheld judgment for a misdemeanor or felony in any jurisdiction?

THE AFFIDAVIT BELOW MUST BE COMPLETED IN ORDER FOR YOUR APPLICATION TO BE VALID.

AFFIDAVIT
State of )
) s.s.
County of )

l, being duly sworn, declare that | understand the instructions and terms as set forth in this
application form, that | am the person referred to in the foregoing application and this affidavit, and that | have personally
completed this form, and that the information given in this application is true, correct and complete. | declare that | have no
mental or physical disabilities (except as otherwise noted above) that presently interfere with my ability to competently and
safely practice nursing and that | have read and understand this affidavit.

Signature of Applicant
On this day of , in the year of before me ,
notary public, personally appeared known or identified to me to be the person whose
name is subscribed to the within instrument, and acknowledged to me that he/she executed the same.

Notary Public
WITNESS my hand and official seal. My Commission expires
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DECLARATION OF PRIMARY STATE OF RESIDENCE
NURSING LICENSURE INTERSTATE COMPACT

Dear Applicant for Licensure by Interstate Endorsement or Reinstatement:

On July 1, 2001, Idaho became a member of the Nurse Licensure Compact. Other states include Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado,
Delaware, lowa, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina,
North Dakota, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, and Wisconsin.

Under terms of the Nurse Licensure Compact, nurses may hold a license to practice issued by their state of residence, if that state
is a Compact state, and are granted the privilege to practice in other Compact states without holding separate licenses in those
other states. If you reside in a Compact state, you may hold a Compact state license only in your declared state of residence; you
may not be licensed in any other Compact state. If you reside in a state that is not a member of the Compact and you apply for
licensure to practice in any Compact state, you will be issued a license by the individual Compact state that will be designated as
valid for practice only in that state.

If you are applying for licensure in Idaho and indicating a mailing address in another Compact state, it is imperative that you
inform the ldaho Board as to which scenario best suits your particular situation, to ensure that appropriate procedures are
followed in issuing your Idaho license or in directing you to contact the appropriate state(s) to apply for and receive a license.

Please note, if you are in the process of moving to Idaho and declaring Idaho as your state of residence, you must provide the
Idaho Board with an Idaho address within 30 days of relocating to this state. Upon notice of address change, licenses held in any
other Compact state will become invalid.

More information regarding the Nurse Licensure Compact is available on the National Council of State Boards of Nursing web site
at http://www.ncsbn.org. If you have questions about your application, please contact the Board at (208) 334-3110 ext. 2476.

Tear off and return

DECLARATION OF PRIMARY STATE OF RESIDENCE

Name

Address:

Primary state of residence is defined as “the state of a person’s declared fixed permanent and principal home for legal purposes;
domicile. Documentation of state of residence includes a valid driver’s license with a home address, voter registration card with a
home address, and/or the state declared as the state of residency on the last federal tax return.

Based on the definition above, my primary state of residence is
I am currently practicing nursing (including telenursing) in the following states:

(@]

heck one:

I am declaring Idaho as my state of residence, even though my mailing address is in another Compact state — enclose
evidence.

| am declaring Idaho as my state of residence; my mailing address is listed below.

| am practicing in Idaho, but am declaring another Compact state as my state of residence - enclose evidence.

| am practicing in Idaho, but am declaring a Non-Compact state as my state of residence.

| am a member of the armed forces and am declaring Idaho as my state of residence.

LOOoE O

I am in the process of moving to Idaho, but do not yet have an Idaho mailing address. * Estimated move date
*Notify the Board office of Idaho address as soon as possible.

Signature Date

Address:
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IDAHO BOARD OF NURSING

ADVANCED PRACTICE PROFESSIONAL NURSE
CONTINUING EDUCATION ACTIVITIES REPORT

FROM TO
NAME
APPN License number: CNM CNS NP RNA
ADDRESS

Advanced Practice Professional

Nurse License Renewal:
Rule 23.01.01.300.03.

RENEWAL OF LICENSURE IS DEPENDENT UPON documentation of 30 contact hours of continuing
education during... [the last] two year period

Authorization Renewal:
Rule 23.01.01.315.02.b.

RENEWAL OF PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY IS DEPENDENT UPON completion of ten (10) contact hours of
approved pharmacology-related continuing education in the twenty-four (24) months immediately
preceding application for renewal. Hours may be part of the thirty (30) required hours (above).

DEFINITIONS:

CONTINUING EDUCATION — consists of planned learning experiences designed to maintain and update
knowledge, skills, and attitudes for the enhancement of practice.
CONTACT HOURS = equal clock hours.

THIS REPORT MAY BE AUDITED. IF SELECTED FOR AUDIT, YOU MAY BE ASKED TO SUBMIT DOCUMENTATION OF COMPLETION OF INDICATED

CONTINUING EDUCATION.
(Attach additional pages if necessary.)
Contact Pharmacology-
DATE NAME OF PROGRAM SPONSOR Hours Related Hours

APPN ContEdu.doc



AFFIDAVIT ATTESTING TO VALIDITY OF COPY

| hereby certify that the attached is a direct photocopy of:
Please [X] appropriate box (es).

|:| The certificate which shows proof of current licensure as a licensed professional nurse (RN)

|:| The certificate which shows advanced practice professional nurse national certification

Total number of documents

Signature of Applicant

On this day of , in the year of , before me
, a notary public, personally appeared ,
known or identified to me to be the person whose name is subscribed to the within instrument, and acknowledged to me
that he/she executed the same.

(Notary Seal) Notary Public

My Commission Expires

Detach Here

Check List
The following items must be submitted when you file your application for APPN Reinstatement:

Completed, notarized application — pages 1 and 2

Fee(s) for APPN Reinstatement

Census Questionnaire

Declaration Form

Employment Reference Form

Continuing Education Form

Fingerprint Card

NonCriminal Justice Applicant Privacy Statement

Affidavit attesting to the Validity of Copies — this form must be accompanied by a copy of
your current RN Idaho license or licensure certificate in a Compact state (if applying for a
temporary license) and your APPN National Certification card.

OOO0OO000000

Return Completed documents to:

Idaho Board of Nursing — PO Box 83720 — Boise, ID 83720-0061



The Idaho Legislature recognizes the importance of health care to all Idahoans and
has provided for accessibility to provider profile information on specified licensed professionals through
the passage of Idaho Code 54-4503. The database, known as IDACARE, will enable the public to make a
more informed decision about their health care provider.

The Patient Freedom of Information Act requires that Advanced Practice Professional Nurses (Certified
Nurse-Midwives, Clinical Nurse Specialists, Nurse Practitioners, and Registered Nurse Anesthetists)
provide information regarding their educational background, work history, disclosure of any final board
disciplinary actions, criminal convictions, malpractice history, and other pertinent information as
required by law. Information is updated at the time the license is renewed.

Following the granting of licensure by this Board, you will be provided with the web address, login
information and password to access the on-line profile form for completion. You may access this
website at: https://idacare.idaho.gov/secure/update/userentry.cfm

For questions concerning IDACARE, contact the Board office at (208) 334-3110 ext. 2476. You may also access pertinent sections
of the Idaho Code by linking from our home page at: www.ibn.idaho.gov or accessing IDACARE at:
https://idacare.idaho.gov/secure/update/userentry.cfm


https://idacare.idaho.gov/secure/update/userentry.cfm

