Apply to renew your RN and/or APRN (CNM, CNS, CNP, CRNA) license using the online Idaho Nurse Portal.

Online RN and APRN license renewal is open May 1 through August 31, 2017

Visit the Board of Nursing home page at; click on Idaho Nurse Portal.  Log on or create a Nurse Portal account. 

To create an account, you will need the following:

- Name or Idaho RN license number

- Birth year and last 4 digits of Social Security Number

- Valid email address. If you share an email address with another nurse, only one of you can use it to set up a portal account.  Each account must have a unique email address.

- Documents for name change (if applicable)

- Valid credit or debit card for payment.  The name on the card does not need to match your name. 

Complete your renewal application, pay the required fee, and print or save your receipt in one easy process. Some fields have been pre-populated based on information from prior licensure applications.  Update incorrect or missing data, including changes to your name and/or address.  If updating your name, you will need to upload supporting documentation in order to be able to complete the license renewal process. You will be able to save and continue later.

Do not share your Portal login information with others; this is your secure access to your official licensure records at the Idaho Board of Nursing.

The RN license renewal application fee is $90.00.  Pay with MasterCard, Visa, American Express, or Discover credit card.  Gift cards and pre-paid credit cards are not accepted.

If you haven’t already, you are encouraged to enroll in Nursys e-Notify, a free service that electronically notifies you of any change in your license status as well as other licensure updates and related alerts. 

REMEMBER… you must apply to renew your license before midnight on AUGUST 31, 2017 to avoid a late fee of $35.00 and the risk of practicing without a current license.

APRNs:  To access the APRN renewal application, you must first complete your Idaho RN renewal application or you must have a valid RN license in a state that is party to the Nurse Licensure Compact which is also your declared primary state of residence (PSOR).  You will be asked to respond to questions specific to APRN license renewal, such as requirements for continuing education (CE), peer review, national APRN certification, and active APRN practice.

Additional APRN Forms Available:

Continuing Education Criteria

Peer Review Policy

Additional Information About License Renewals 

Licenses are renewed on a biennial basis: even-numbered years for licensed practical nurses (LPN) and odd-numbered years for professional nurses (RN) and advanced practice professional nurses (APRN).  Licenses expire on August 31st of the corresponding year.  The current fee for renewing prior to the expiration date is $90.00. After August 31st of the appropriate year, there will be a late fee assessed.  If you have continued to practice nursing in Idaho with an expired license, an administrative fine may be assessed.


If you are unable to renew online, for paper renewal contact the Board of Nursing office at (208) 577-2476; or mail a request to Idaho Board of Nursing, PO Box 83720, Boise, ID 83720-0061; or send an e-mail to the Board:  PLEASE NOTE: Fees are not accepted without the accompanying signed renewal form.


You may not renew your license online if one or more of the following apply to you.  Instead, you will need to submit a reinstatement application if your license is lapsed.

-   Your license has lapsed for more than one year

-   Your primary state of residence is not Idaho, and is a member of the Nurse Licensure Compact.  Exception:  Idaho APRN license with valid RN license in any Compact state may renew online. (See map and list of states at National Council of State Boards of Nursing “Nurse Licensure Compact” page,

Note: if you are employed by the United States Government (including the Department of Defense), and a license in Idaho is required in order for you to perform your official duties, you may renew online during the normal renewal period.