Licensing Information

Nurse Portal

Establishing a Nurse Portal account is the first step for initial licensure by exam, license by endorsement, and renewals of all license types.  Detailed instructions and needed external forms are on the Forms/Instructions web page. If you have questions about the Nurse Portal, contact the Board office at: info@ibn.idaho.gov.

Licensure Renewals

Licenses are renewed on a biennial basis. Licensed practical nurses (LPN) renew on even-numbered years, professional nurses (RN) and Advanced Practice Registered Nurses (APRN) on odd-numbered years. Licenses expire on August 31st of the applicable year. The current fee for renewing prior to the expiration date is $90.00. If you renew after August 31st, a $35.00 late fee is assessed.  If you continue to practice nursing in Idaho with an expired license, an administrative fine may be assessed. Licenses may be renewed three (3) months prior to the expiration date of your current license.

If you are unable to renew online, you can request a paper renewal by contacting the Board of Nursing office at: info@ibn.idaho.gov, or mail a request to Idaho Board of Nursing, PO Box 83720, Boise, ID 83720-0061. PLEASE NOTE: We do not accept fees without the accompanying signed renewal form. We encourage you to renew your license through the Nurse Portal during the normal renewal period.

You may not renew your license online if one or more of the following apply to you:

Your license has lapsed for more than one year.

Your primary state (other than Idaho) of residence is a member of the Nurse Licensure (See  http://www.ncsbn.org/ for a list of Current States)

{Note: if you are employed by the United States Government (including the Department of Defense), and a license in Idaho is required in order for you to perform your official duties, you may renew through the Nurse Portal.}

Nurse Licensure Compact

The Nurse Licensure Compact, adopted in Idaho on July 1, 2001, allows nurses who reside in and hold a multi-state license in one Compact state, the privilege of practicing nursing in other Compact states, without holding additional licenses in those states. Under terms of the Compact, nurses may hold a valid multi-state license in only one Compact state – their primary state of residence. If you declare Idaho as your primary state of residence, you will be issued an Idaho multi-state license, and licenses that you currently hold in other compact states (i.e. Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Iowa, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, and Wisconsin) will become invalid. You are granted the privilege to practice in other compact states and are required to adhere to the practice laws of each respective state in which you practice. If you change your state of residence to another state, you are directed to contact that state’s Board of Nursing and request a new license. If your new state of residence is a member of the Compact, your Idaho license will become invalid upon issuance of your new multi-state license. If your new state of residence is not a member of the Compact and you choose to continue practicing in Idaho, you will be issued an Idaho license designated as valid only for practice in Idaho.

If you have questions about the Nurse Licensure Compact, telephone the Board office at (208) 577-2476 or visit the National Council of State Boards of Nursing’s Web Site at:http://www.ncsbn.org/

 

 

Licensure by Reinstatement

Reinstatement after Discipline